Social Emotional Learning Socratic Seminar

Please click SEL Socratic Seminar Packet for the complete SEL Socratic Seminar Packet as a PDF.

Click here for the champions Socratic Seminar session.

The following photos were student notes that were taken during our first discussion about the importance of Social Emotional Learning.

 “Does Social-Emotional learning impact success?”

 A Gateway to Learning and Understanding.

The BIG question: “Does Social Emotional Learning Impact Success?”

Here are some related questions

  • What is Social Emotional Learning?
  • How could Social Emotional Learning impact success?
  • Do I think Social Emotional Learning is important?
  • Should Social Emotional Learning be taught at school?
  • Do I mainly learn about social skills at home or at school?
  • Have I learned any social or emotional skills at school before?
  • What have my parents or teachers taught me about social emotional learning?
  • What are social skills?
  • What are emotional skills?
  • Why is Social Emotional Learning Important?

Do you have any questions of your own?

Write them here:

1.   Rewrite the question in a way YOU understand it (If you understand the question as written, leave it):

What Is Social Emotional Learning?

Social and emotional learning involves the processes of developing social and emotional skills in people. SEL is based on the understanding that students learn best when they are in supportive relationships that make learning challenging, engaging, and meaningful; social and emotional skills are critical to being a good student, person, and worker; and many different risky behaviors (e.g., violence, bullying, and dropout) can be prevented or reduced when students learn and work on their social and emotional skills.

There are five SEL skills:

  • Self-awareness: The ability to correctly recognize my own emotions and thoughts and their influence on my behavior. This includes knowing my strengths and things I need to improve and having self-confidence and optimism.
  • Self-management: The ability to control my emotions, thoughts, and behaviors positively in different situations. This includes managing stress, controlling impulses, motivating myself, and setting and working toward achieving personal and academic goals.
  • Social awareness: The ability to take the perspective of and empathize with others from diverse backgrounds and cultures, to understand social and ethical norms for behavior, and to recognize family, school, and community resources and supports.
  • Interpersonal skills: The ability to create and keep healthy and rewarding relationships with diverse individuals and groups. This includes communicating clearly, listening actively, cooperating, resisting inappropriate social pressure, negotiating conflict constructively, and seeking and offering help when needed.
  • Responsible decision-making: The ability to make constructive and respectful choices about personal behavior and social interactions based on consideration of ethical standards, safety concerns, social norms, the realistic evaluation of consequences of various actions, and the well-being of self and others.
Vocabulary:
  • 1.     Empathy (noun): a being aware of and sharing another person’s feelings, experiences, and emotions.
  • 2.     Impulses: a sudden feeling to do something.
  • 3.     Diverse: differing from one another: UNLIKE
  • 4.     Impact: to influence.


  •  

Questions that may help bring YOUR EXPERIENCE/VOICE to the topic:

Self-Awareness:

  • 1.     Have I ever been proud or disappointed in myself?
  • 2.    Can I recognize when I am feeling: sadness, anger, and happiness?
  • 3.    Can I recognize things that stress me out?
  • 4.    How can I learn to have better Self Awareness and who can teach me?
  • 5.    Am I able to give myself positive reinforcement?

 Self-management:

  1. Do I know how to create and work towards a goal (Personal or Academic)?

Social Awareness:

  • 1.    Can I use verbal, physical, and situational cues to understand how others feel?
  • 2.    Can I predict others’ feelings and perspectives in various situations?

Relationship Skills:

  • 1.    Do I know how to make and keeping friends?
  • 2.    Do I know how to work on a team?

 Responsible Decision Making:

  • 1.    Am I aware of the decisions I make at school?
  • 2.    Do I know how to resist peer pressure that may lead me to do the wrong thing? 

 

Family Interactive Homework:Student to Parent Questions: 1. Would your experience in middle school have been different if your school had the 5 S.E.L Skills? 2. Do you use the 5 S.E.L skills at work?

 

3. How can the 5 S.E.L skills help us at home?

Reflect in your creative journal: Did the conversation with your parent/guardian help you answer the BIG question? How?

 

 

 

PARENT SIGNATURE:

___________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

